Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife Approves Razor Clam Dig Starting Jan. 30

WDFW has approved several razor clam digs in May at two Washington beaches.

Submitted by Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife

Diggers will have a chance to spice up their Super Bowl parties with some fresh razor clams during a dig beginning Jan. 30 on several ocean beaches.

The Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife (WDFW) approved the opening, which runs through Feb. 6, after marine toxin test results showed the clams are safe to eat.

“Razor clam dip makes a scrumptious Super Bowl snack,” Ayres said. “Diggers can fill their buckets with clams Friday and Saturday ahead of the big game.”

Razor clam recipes, including for clam dip, are available on WDFW’s webpage here.

Several beaches will be open – but likely a little quiet – on Super Bowl Sunday, providing lots of elbow room for diggers who aren’t football fans, Ayres said.

Under state law, diggers are required to keep the first 15 clams they dig. Each digger’s clams must be kept in a separate container.

Upcoming digs are scheduled on the following dates, beaches and low tides:

  • Jan. 30, Friday; 3:43 p.m., 0.5 feet Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Jan. 31, Saturday; 4:32 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Feb. 1, Sunday; 5:15 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Feb. 2, Monday; 5:53 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 3, Tuesday; 6:27 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 4, Wednesday; 6:59 p.m., 0.0 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 5, Thursday; 7:30 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 6, Friday; 8:00 p.m., 0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors

The best digging typically occurs one to two hours before low tide, Ayres said. No digging is allowed at any beach before noon.

WDFW also has proposed a dig set to begin Feb. 15, if marine toxin tests are favorable. That dig is tentatively scheduled on the following dates, beaches and low tides:

  • Feb. 15, Sunday; 3:47 p.m., 0.2 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 16, Monday; 4:37 p.m., -0.5 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 17, Tuesday; 5:24 p.m., -0.9 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 18, Wednesday; 6:08 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 19, Thursday; 6:51 p.m., -1.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors
  • Feb. 20, Friday; 7:33 p.m., -0.7 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks
  • Feb. 21, Saturday; 8:16 p.m., -0.1 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors, Mocrocks and Copalis
  • Feb. 22, Sunday; 9:00 p.m., 0.6 feet, Long Beach, Twin Harbors and Mocrocks

All diggers age 15 or older must have an applicable 2014-15 fishing license to harvest razor clams on any beach. Licenses, ranging from a three-day razor clam license to an annual combination fishing license, are available on WDFW’s website at https://fishhunt.dfw.wa.gov and from license vendors around the state.

Print Friendly